Public Witness

The Centre is a joint initiative of the Dutch Reformed Church (Synod of the Western Cape) and the United Reformed Church (Regional Synod of Cape)

The chair of the board is Dr Llwellyn MacMaster (URC).
The director is Dr Braam Hanekom (NG Church).

What we do

The Centre does public theology with a specific focus on issues affecting the South African socio-economic context.

  • The main focus is the establishment and facilitation of multicultural dialogue sessions across South Africa. (See 100 Villages Dialogue);
  • The Centre is also responsible for the Hope and Reconciliation Trust, which focuses on rural development and early childhood development;
  • The Centre also serves as the administrative office for the WCEN (Western Cape Ecumenical Network), which provides an ecumenical network for approximately thirty denominations and church organizations in the Western Cape;
  • Ecological issues are a major concern for the Centre and Dr Hanekom also serves on the board of SAFCEI (Southern African Faith Communities Environmental Initiative);
  • Specific areas of focus include: housing, poverty alleviation, skills development and faith development in a modern context.

100 Towns Dialogue

Towns and regions where conversations have already taken place as part of the 100 Towns Dialogue Project: click HERE

Read more: HERE

Board Members 

Naam E-pos Selfoonnommer
Llewellyn MacMaster llmmacmaster@gmail.com 083 413 0400
Zanne Horrel zannehorrell@outlook.com 082 899 6102
Esther Xube esthernx@webmail.co.za 082 680 3490
Matilda Maarman matilda_maarman@yahoo.com 076 688 5945
Braam Hanekom braam@kaapkerk.co.za 083 302 8639
George Rauch grauch@mweb.co.za 083 284 2760
Heerden van Niekerk hvn@cast-sa.co.za 083 701 7011
Johannes Mouton johannes@ngkerktableview.co.za 082 391 3841
Johann Theron tronnels@vodamail.co.za 084 705 1424
Sipho Mahokoto ssmahokoto@sun.ac.za 083 745 3405
Stephen Pedro stephen@kaapkerk.co.za 076 072 5156
Clive Jacobs clivedonaldj@gmail.com 074 727 9362
William Ficks ficks@telkomsa.net 068 200 0589
Nelis Janse van Rensburg cjrens@telkomsa.net 082 821 2730
Kobus Odendaal missio@kaapkerk.co.za 082 732 4752

Contact

Braam Hanekom (Director)
021 9577117 / 7202
braam@kaapkerk.co.za

Office:
021 957 7202

spg@kaapkerk.co.za

Press Releases

Articles